Now 51 nations have ratified the U.N. treaty prohibiting nuclear weapons.

This blog’s “Nuclear Weapons” category has included a number of posts about the truly exciting, historic Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons” (TPNW).  Read those for background.  Now here is what’s new:

In October 2020 Honduras became the 50th nation to ratify the treaty.  The treaty specifies that it will go into effect 90 days after the 50th nation has ratified it.  That means the TPNW will go into effect on January 22, 2021.

The national level of Physicians for Social Responsibility ( celebrated the 50th ratification:

Currently 51 nations have ratified the Treaty.  More nations are making progress toward ratification.

The world community is saying a strong “NO” to nuclear weapons.  The nine nations that do have nuclear weapons (U.S., Russia, China, France, England, India, Pakistan, Israel, North Korea) will be seen as “outliers” — “rogue nations” — in the world community.

For information about the treaty, see the website of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN):

Also, you may contact the Olympia Coalition to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (OCANW) by contacting Glen Anderson at (360) 491-9093 or our statewide coalition, Washington Against Nuclear Weapons (WANW) at (206) 547-2630








About GlenAnderson 1515 Articles
Since the late 1960s Glen Anderson has devoted his life to working as a volunteer for peace, nonviolence, social justice, and progressive political issues. He has worked through many existing organizations and started several. Over the years he has worked especially for such wide-ranging goals as making peace with Vietnam, eliminating nuclear weapons, converting from a military economy to a peacetime economy, abolishing the death penalty, promoting nonviolence at all levels throughout society, and helping people organize and strategize for grassroots movements to solve many kinds of problems. He writes, speaks, and conducts training workshops on a wide variety of topics. Since 1987 he has produced and hosted a one-hour cable TV interview program on many kinds of issues. Since 2017 he has blogged at He lives in Lacey near Olympia WA. You can reach him at (360) 491-9093